Amanda McCourt



Jesse Lynch is a senior mechanical engineering student and a member of the Gemstone Honors College.  He will be graduating this May.  He has tailored his undergraduate experience to incorporate electromechanical and micro-robotic elements.  He has also researched the potential for swarms of heat dependent actuators and the potential for magnetic stabilization.  Jesse will be continuing his mechanical engineering career at Dominion Engineering Incorporated (DEI) in Reston, VA this July.



Thao Nguyen


Vice President

Nicole Convissar is a Junior Mechanical Engineering major with a concentration in Electronics and Mechatronics and personal interest in Theater Technology. She is also involved with the Alpha Omega Epsilon, the half-professional half-social Engineering Sorority, and Society of Women in Engineering. Nicole currently works for The Clarice in the Technology Shop as an Electrician, Light Designer, and Board Programmer.





Saul Schaffer



Andrew Scontras is currently a junior mechanical engineering major. He is interested in the renewable energy potential within mechanical engineering, especially solar and geothermal energy. In his free time he enjoys playing intramural sports and watching the University’s teams.




Mike Rogers


Event Planner

Mike Rogers is a senior in mechanical engineering with a minor in nuclear engineering. He is currently pursuing an interest in international engineering worldwide through Engineers Without Borders to serve the needs of disadvantaged communities through engineering projects.




Ars Alamsyah



Greg Kim is a senior mechanical engineering major at the University of Maryland. He is involved with Terps Racing on the electronics and instrumentation team and had previously been involved in the aerodynamics team.





Amanda McCourt



Alba Dalton is a senior in mechanical engineering with a previous degree in physiology/psychology. Before returning to school she worked for ARC as a group home counselor. In addition to ASME she is part of the American Red Cross – UMD Chapter, and Krishna Lunch Program. In her free time she swims and on weekends she volunteers at Christ House, a DC shelter.







Public Affairs Officer

Jason was accepted into the Clark School of Engineering staring in the Fall 2014 Semester. Prior to starting at UMD, he attended Montgomery College while working part-time as a technician for NCR. He was drawn to mechanical engineering after serving in the United States Marine Corps as an Aviation Life Support Systems machinic on the AV8B Harrier platform. Primarily he worked on maintaining the environmental cooling for the pilot, avionics; and radar systems. Upon graduation he wishes to work as an engineer for NAVAIR at NAS Pax River.





Faculty Advisor

Dr. Shapour Azarm received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1984.  He is currently a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering department and the Director of Design Decision Support Laboratory.  His research with his group has been published in over 80 journal articles.  He has also supervised 22 Ph.D. students to graduation.  Dr. Azarm is an Operating Board member of the ASME Systems and Design Group, with over 33,000 members, a member-at-large of the ASME Committee on Division Operations and Training, and a member of the Advisory Committee of the ASME Design Engineering Division.  He has also received the ASME Design Automation Award.  To read more about Dr. Azarm and his achievements click here.





Professors Who Are Members of ASME

      • Davinder K. Anand
      • Shapour Azarm
      • Balakumar Balachandran
      • Avram Bar-Cohen
      • Donald Barker
      • Amr Baz
      • Arthur Bergles
      • Hugh Bruck
      • Patrick Cunniff
      • James Dally
      • Marino di Marzo
      • Ashwani Gupta
      • Satyandra K. Gupta
      • Bongtae Han
      • Jungho Kim
      • Edward Magrab
      • C.D. Mote, Jr.
      • Michael Ohadi
      • Michael Pecht
      • R.J. Sanford
      • R.J. Sanford
      • Jan Sengers
      • Ephraim Suhir
      • Jaydev P. Desai
      • Donald DeVoe
      • Teng Li
      • Guangming Zhang
      • Santiago Solares
      • Chandra Thamire